Board of Directors

Carolyn Benesh
Benesh is coeditor and copublisher of Ornament Magazine, printed five times a year. Originally started as The Bead Journal, the magazine increased its focus to contemporary, ethnographic, and ancient personal adornment in 1979. She has written and edited articles on craft, lectured at museums and conferences, and served as a juror at major craft shows. She has also studied the modern craft movement.

Lani Duke
– Former administrator- NEA, CA Confederation of the Arts, J. Paul Getty Trust
– Founding director of the Getty Education Institute for the Arts
– Directed LA Times’ Reading by 9 child literacy initiative
– Trustee of American Craft Council

Susan A Grode, President
Partner and Co-Chair of Entertainment & Media Practice
Grode concentrates her law practice in entertainment, intellectual property, media licensing and merchandising law, counseling and representing domestic and international motion picture studios, film and television production and distribution companies and entrepreneurs, Video on Demand companies, digital and interactive game companies and distributors, as well as book and comic book publishing, toy and Internet content companies and theater and arts institutions. Grode is recognized as one of the leading authorities on domestic and international animation, having represented major motion picture and animation studios and creators of The Simpsons, Futurama, and SpongeBob, among many others.

Lois Jecklin
Since 2005, Jecklin has been personal manager for composer/conductor Bright Sheng, whom she represented as part of her roster while president and owner of Jecklin Associates, an artist management and representation firm doing business worldwide from 1988 to 2004. From 1990 to 2004, she also served as assistant to the director of the Walter W. Naumburg Foundation, New York City, placing the winners of their international competition with presenting organizations throughout the U.S. In 1973, at the invitation of Deere & Co. and the Quad City Arts Council, she helped to found Visiting Artists Inc., an Iowa/Illinois multidisciplinary arts presenting organization, and served as its President and CEO until 1988.

Steven Poster, ASC
Poster is a cinematographer with over fifty film credits including Donnie Darko, Stuart Little 2 and The Box. He is also a photographer. He is the President of the International Cinematographers Guild, Local 600 of the I.A.T.S.E., a 6000-member national labor organization. He is a member of the Motion Picture Academy, a judge on its Nicholl Foundation Fellowship, and on its Public Presentation Committee. He is a past president of the American Society of Cinematographers, the oldest professional organization in the motion picture business, and was on the Board of the International Documentary Association.

Susan Koblin Schear, Treasurer
Schear is an educator, speaker, consultant, and leader. She founded the company, ARTISIN®, LLC, in 1995 to offer comprehensive business development and management services for the arts and culture. An active board trustee, Schear is the treasurer and an involved committees’ member of CERF+ (Craft Emergency Relief Fund). She serves on several committees including chair of the steering committee for the Arts and Business Council of New York (ABC/NY), National Arts Marketing Project (NAMP) New York. She is also a member of several cultural and business-networking organizations.


Lloyd Herman
During his 25 year employment at the Smithsonian Institution, Herman was the founding Director of the national craft museum of the United States, the Renwick Gallery of the Smithsonian American Art Museum from 1971-1986. He has continued to curate exhibitions on craft and design topics, lectured on American crafts and juried numerous art competitions. In recent years he has led craft tours in other countries and lectures regularly on contemporary glass art for Road Scholar programs in Seattle.

Jane Milosch
In April 2008, Milosch, curator at the Renwick Gallery, Smithsonian American Art Museum, was appointed to the acting position of Senior Program Officer for the Arts, in the Office of the Under Secretary for History, Art, and Culture (OUSHAC), Smithsonian Institution, Washington D.C., to work with Under Secretary Richard Kurin on pan-Institutional art programs and initiatives. She was a Fulbright Scholar in Munich, Germany, where she has also worked as a managing editor for Prestel art books. Milosch began her museum career in 1990 at the Detroit Institute of the Arts in the Department of 20th-century Art.


Yvonne Bell
– Director of Development at Center Theatre Group. Before Center Theatre Group

Corinna Cotsen
Cotsen is an artist, architect and collector. Cotsen has served on the Board of Trustees of the American Craft Council, is on the Board of Trustees of the Craft and Folk Art Museum and has been on the Board of Craft in America since its inception.

Cathleen Collins
– Consultant to Craft in America, attorney, fundraiser
– Former President of the Board of Trustees, Wildwood School
– Trustee, Foundation of the State Bar of California

Pat Courtney Gold
– Fiber artist and basket maker
– Wasco Nation, Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs, OR
– NEA Heritage Fellowship, 2007

Steven L. Grafe, Ph.D
– Curator, Maryhill Museum of Art
– Former Curator of American Indian Art, National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum
– M.A. and Ph.D., Art History (American Indian Art), University of New Mexico

Karin Higa (1966 – 2013)
– Senior Curator of Art at Japanese American National Musuem

Beverly Maloof
– Sam & Alfreda Maloof Foundation for the Arts & Crafts board of trustees
– University of California, Riverside Botanic Garden Advisory Board
– Textile Museum Advisory Council

Eudorah Moore (1918 – 2013)
– Former Director of the California Design Exhibitions
– Former Craft Administrator for the National Endowment for the Arts
– Former Design Curator for the Pasadena Museum of Art

Ann Ruhr Pifer
– Owner of The Grand Hand Gallery
– Chief Operating Officer,
– B.A., Economics, Smith College
– M.A., International Relations, Johns Hopkins

Cynthia Sears
– Founder, Bainbridge Island Museum of Art
– Board Member, Bainbridge Island Community Endowment
– Vice President, Port Townsend Film Festival
– Founder and Chairman, Island Treasure Award Program
– Consultant, Local non-profit Arts and Humanities Organizations

Hidde Van Duym, Ph.D.
– Former Director, Washington Commission for the Humanities
– Artist, arts administrator and consultant